Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
5

Presenting: Crowdfunding Indie Comics on Kickstarter

My talk at the Toronto Comic Arts Festival: Word Balloon Academy (May 2024)
5

Happy Wednesday!

Normally, I’d start with a “quick updates” section. That’s still in this post, but I’m going to follow the conventions that the rest of Substack follows and leave those after the main topic of this post.

Here’s what you can expect:

  • Main Feature - My Talk at TCAF: Word Balloon Academy

  • Crazy Latte Thing Called Love production update

  • Where to find me at SDCC (Let’s meet in person!)

  • Upcoming Posts

  • Convention Schedule

  • Production & Release Calendar

Without further ado…

My Talk at TCAF: Word Balloon Academy

I’m no expert. There are certainly folks that know a lot more about Kickstarter and how to get the most of campaigns than I do. Arguably, even current me knows more now than I did back in May 2024 when I did this talk. It was before Crazy Latte Thing Called Love launched and I learned a lot there:

The experience I had gained through my previous campaigns - and others I got to tag along in or follow as a superbacker of over 800 projects - gave me a lot of insight I was very excited to share.

The presentation was an hour long, so we cover a lot of topics including:

  • Day One (Where to start)

  • Page Prep

  • Reward Deep Dive

  • Launch Day

  • The Dead Zone

  • The Last 48 Hours

  • Fulfillment

  • Congratulations (and what to do next)

If you’re worried about losing your place or want to easily skip ahead to the next section, I’ve also posted this on Youtube at: https://www.youtube.com/@pestocomics

Always Learning

One thing I learned from working in the corporate world is that even if someone is telling you something you already know, you let them talk as you might still learn something.

I hope all the information I provided was useful and fruitful, regardless of your experience level.

When it comes to Kickstarter: a rising tide lifts all boats. I just want to see everyone succeed on this platform.

I’m always happy to help those that are willing to listen…

…and I’m always looking to learn more myself.

Do you have a project coming up soon? Was any of this useful to you?

Leave a comment

Quick Updates & Goings On…

Crazy Latte Thing Called Love

Survey’s have gone out and we’re off to the printers! Pending any delay, these are expected to arrive at my doorstep by August 2nd — then packages start getting put together!

Will You Be at SDCC?

I will be! (I’m actually on a plane right now as this is getting sent out.)

I’m just an attendee this time out, but I’ll be walking the floor on Thursday and Sunday.

You can also find me at the following get-togethers:
Thursday July 25 8pm-11pm - GlobalComix Mixer
Friday July 26 8:30am-9:30am - Black Jackett Club Founder's Breakfast
Saturday July 27 9pm - Writers Block Meetup

I’ll also be at the LAFC vs Tijuana Leagues Cup game at BMO Stadium on Friday night, if you’re making the trip there.

Let me know if you’re going to be at any of these events to say “Hi!” in person.


Upcoming Posts

July 31

California Dreamin’

The weekend at San Diego Comic Con & sunny Los Angeles (plus: inspiring the film school flunkie in me)

August 7

Juggling Multiple Projects

Arguably not just for clowns

August 14

Comics in the Ballroom

The weekend at Vaughan Con


Convention Schedule

Production & Release Calendar

Discussion about this podcast

Pesto Comics
Pesto Comics - Audio Edition
Writing and crowdfunding action-filled indie comics for pulp genre junkies.
Strategies and methods for successful campaigns within -- plus sneak previews for upcoming projects!
Published every Wednesday!