Pesto Comics
Pesto Comics - Audio Edition
New Year, New All of Us
1
0:00
-6:47

New Year, New All of Us

What’s in store for 2024
1

While procrastinating on these upcoming projects, I’ve made a MCU-inspired timeline for Pesto Comics in 2024. I’ve left the moonshot projects, particularly ones relying on government grants, off the timeline.

Even without those, this is pretty ambitious. All of these projects are in progress, so I feel confident we can deliver as expected. I kept the windows open to seasons, like “spring 2024” to allow for a bit of wiggle room.

Let’s go through the projects and others initiatives for the next 12 months…

Comics & Writing

Archetypes 1

February 2024 | An Independent Geek Culture Comic-Sized Magazine

If you follow me on Twitter, Mastodon, LinkedIn or Facebook, you’ll know I put out daily bits of writing advice. Joey Galvaz of Geek Collective is putting together a magazine that will include even more writing tips from me this February!

Project

Check it out on Kickstarter in February

Crazy Latte Thing Called Love

Spring 2024 | One-Shot w/ Mattia Monaco

For anyone who’s been on this newsletter for any period of time or backed the last campaign, you know about this one. Mattia should start sending art my way soon - at which point I’ll be happy to share what I can!

Very, very excited for this one.

Follow it here if you haven’t yet!

Working Stiff

Spring 2024 | Weekly Webcomic

I love my floppies, but what got me into “comics” were comic strips. I’ll get into one of my favourites next post, but it’s time for one of my own to get out there: Working Stiff.

It’ll be free and it’ll be everywhere I can put it. WebToon, Tapas and on the socials.

Expect to see something more than a title caption very soon.

Il Pescatore

June 2024 | The City We Chose Anthology by TO Comix

I was lucky to be selected for the latest anthology by TO Comix. This edition is called “The City We Chose”. It was a dream come true to work with this group as I’ve been reading their “Toronto Comics” collections for years now.

For my entry, I wrote a short (very) loosely based on the experience of my grandfather coming to Toronto from Italy.

I was even luckier to get paired up with Marzia Migliori. The character designs she’s submitted are absolutely astonishing.

(Click the link below for even more great character designs by Marzia)

“NKW”

Summer 2024 and Onward | New 5-Part Series w/ Rafael Chrestani

This is the big one.

I’ll have more to share in the very near future, like the title, but until then we’ll just call it “NKW”.

If you’ve been a fan of anything I’ve written (or Rafael has drawn), I think you’ll absolutely love this one. It’s going to be a ton of fun, a little weird and beautiful to look at.

Stick around for more.

Cleo & Gus

Fall 2024 | 3x Weekly Webcomic

Did I mention that I love comic strips? Working Stiff will have some very clear influences I’m drawing from - and you’ll see that again, albeit with different influences, in Cleo & Gus.

This one will be 3x weekly and I’ve already written a year’s worth! It’s going to be some goofy fun - and also free to all on all the platforms!

NKW and the strips will take up the 2nd half of 2024 (and likely the first half of 2025), but there’s more than just creating content next year…

In-Person

Feeling the FOMO at TCAF & Toronto Comicon

I applied for tables at TCAF and Toronto Comicon this year, which I quickly learned was a novice mistake. Without too much to offer beyond Stay Cool and Unlimited Udo, I was not approved for a table this go round.

That said, I’ll be at both events as an attendee.

TCAF has the excellent Word Balloon Academy on the Friday and the festival itself through the weekend. It’s always fun to check out.

Plus, I’ve already got my ticket to Toronto Comicon from my Fan Expo pass - so I’ll certainly be checking that out, along with…

Attending San Diego Comic-Con & Fan Expo Canada

I’ve been going to Fan Expo Canada forever - and I’ll be continuing that streak this year. Last year was the first post-covid year that felt more like old times and I’m excited to go back.

A post shared by @pestocomics

Before that though, I’m going to the big one: San Diego Comic-Con!

I got tickets for Thursday and Sunday - so I’m missing the big days. I’ll take what I can get - and from what I hear there’s lots to do around the city, so I’m sure it’ll be fun. I’m excited (and a little nervous) to check it all out.

Applying to Niagara Comicon & Hamilton Comicon

I plan to apply for tables at two more cons later in the year - and I should have a lot more to fill a table by then. Here’s hoping you can find me in Hamilton or Niagara Falls this year. Fingers crossed.

Marketing

The Pesto Comics newsletter podcast

I’m reading these to you now! Hopefully, this can increase engagement on the newsletter and expand the base a bit. Right now, it’s just a straight readout of what you can read yourself, but it opens the door to expand this in the near future. I have plans, but no big commitments yet.

Shift to Video - TikTok, Instagram Reels and YouTube Shorts

A post shared by @pestocomics

It’s something I’ve been putting off, but I’ll be replacing the energy I’ve used to update the experimental “Pesto Hyper” newsletter and put it into expanding my reach on these platforms.

It’ll likely be a lot of the same content, but in very easily digestible 15-20 second bites.

Still On The Bad Place - Twitter/X

Twitter is a writer’s platform and Comics Twitter remains pretty strong (though not like it was in its heyday). I’ll still be there if you’d like to get the content I was posting on the now defunct Pesto Hyper.

I also post my videos on here too - in case you’re not on the other apps.

It’s been a good experience on the platform in spite of the efforts to burn it all down. You just need to be liberal with your block and mute buttons.

All said…

I’m Excited for 2024, Are You?

There’s so much planned and I can’t wait to start delivering it to you. I’m so grateful for growing in 2023 and excited to accelerate that this year.

Thanks again for joining me on this journey. Have a wonderful 2024!


What’s Next?

January 15

The Comics That Inspired Me: Garfield

Really? Garfield?

February 1

Digital is the Future for Comics

It has to be, right?


Enjoying what you’re reading? Get a bunch of free stuff from me by referring a friend.

Refer a friend

Thank you for helping get the word out about Pesto Comics!

1 Comment
Pesto Comics
Pesto Comics - Audio Edition
Writing and crowdfunding action-filled indie comics for pulp genre junkies.
Strategies and methods for successful campaigns within -- plus sneak previews for upcoming projects!
Published every 1st and 15th.