Pesto Comics
Pesto Comics - Audio Edition
Get Yourself a Crazy Latte
2
0:00
-8:17

Get Yourself a Crazy Latte

"Crazy Latte Thing Called Love" launches today - plus two cons in two weeks?!
2

What’s Been Up Lately

Big Smoke Pulp: Call for Entries Still Open

We’re looking for your stories!

Find out more about our new project coming this fall: Big Smoke Pulp

Call for Entries

If you have something I should read, be sure to send it. It’ll cost you nothing but your time (and could get you paid!)

I’ve accepted enough to make up 30% of the book so far, so there’s still a time to get in.

A Fun Couple of Weekends

TIAC - Toronto Indie Author Conference

I started the month at the Toronto Indie Author Conference. I got to meet cool indie authors like

and Stephen Kotowych, along with uber successful speakers like Genevieve Clovis, Melissa Storm and Tao Wong.

Home - Toronto Indie Author Conference

If you’re an author, or a comics writer, I highly recommend checking out this conference next year. Or one like it if you’re not from Toronto. There was a lot to learn and everyone there were some of the most supportive people around. You really get the sense that everyone is in it together.

I came back energized with some big gameplans for the coming months. Keep an eye on the Progress Calendar at the bottom of this post as it’ll be updating a shifting around a lot with each post.

TCAF Word Balloon Academy

I presented at TCAF’s Word Balloon Academy on Friday - and it couldn’t have gone better! There was a decent crowd to hear me talk all things comics and Kickstarter. I got to meet a few after the presentation too.

Plus the entire day was very informative. TCAF tends to really focus more on the “art” side of comics, so I felt I was a good counterpoint for how to make more commercially-minded comics.

If you missed it, don’t fret. I’ll be sharing a recording of the presentation for all subscribers. I’ll share that in the footer links of the email.

TCAF - Toronto Comics Arts Festival

The next day, the main event was underway. It was the busiest it’s been since 2020 - though still not at the pre-pandemic levels quite yet. Not entirely a bad thing as you were actually able to walk across the floor without being crushed.

I got to talk to a bunch of comics friends like

, , Jen Woodall and more. Plus I got to meet the editorial team for TO Comix The City We Chose, Steven Andrews and Emily Stewart. (Steven assures me there’s a big smile under his N95!)

Better yet, they were able to show me proofs of the upcoming book. They look amazing. Marzia’s art is really something else. You really don’t want to miss out on this anthology.

The City We Chose

Just two days left to get your copy.

And now, let’s talk about the latest project launching today…

We’re Live!

We went live on Kickstarter today at 8:00am Eastern!

How much can you really know about a person you've just met? 

Crazy Latte Thing Called Love is a 32-page full-colour one-shot where Liam, a lovelorn insurance adjuster, doesn't care to answer that question. He falls deeply in love with a barista, Ruby, who barely knows him. As his love falls deeper into obsession, he gets dragged into a world he was not prepared to enter.

This project has been a long time coming. I had written it late last year, but good things come to those who wait. Mattia has done some unreal work for this comic and I can’t wait for everyone to see it first hand.

I’ve used that time to collaborate with more artists for some really cool variant covers. This includes

with his “Frankly, My Dear” Gone with the Wind variant and Will Robson with his “Groovy” Army of Darkness variant.

Homage variant aside, we’ve got two excellent covers by Mattia Monaco to add to the bunch.

Shipping has been a real pain when it comes to getting comics in your hand. However, I’ve been working with Stallion Express since last campaign and with that in mind, I was able to do something different this time around to soften the blow:

But there’s more!

An early tip for newsletter subscribers: We’re experimenting with “pocket rewards” this time out.

For those not familiar, these are rewards that are introduced mid-campaign to give it a boost. However, if you get the bundles from “All The Crazy Latte Covers” and up - you’ll get the pocket reward thrown in at no extra cost.

It’ll be another excellent homage variant about a certain city of stars. 😉

If you’re new to Pesto Comics, campaign season is the best time to catch up. There are a ton of bundles and add-ons available that let you save money while reading everything we have to offer.

If you haven’t picked up your copies yet, make sure you do before May 17th at Midnight to get in on early backer bonuses. This includes some great digital comics from other indie creators I’m a big fan of, including:

  • Deadskins: Part One

  • Wishful Thinking #1

  • Beowulf #1

For physical backers submit their order before May 17th 11:59pm EDT, they will receive a bookmark and sticker from previous campaigns - along with those great digital comics.

I want to get this comic in the hands of as many people as possible. This campaign is a huge step towards that. Funding is just one part of it, but truthfully doesn’t cover the cost of production or fulfillment entirely.

That’s why we’ll have a whole bunch of stretch goals to hit throughout the campaign. So many, that I may come to regret including shipping!

I want you to make me regret it.

Lets make Crazy Latte Thing Called Love a record-setting campaign for Pesto Comics together.

To help that happen…

Listen to Me On All Your Favourite Podcasts

Along with pushing the advertising as far as my budget can muster, I’ll be pushing the campaign on a number of podcasts every few days.

Wednesday Night Reviews

TONIGHT! May 15 at 7:00pm ET

We celebrate launch day with Konrad for Wednesday Night Reviews!

I met Konrad at a panel at Fan Expo last year and this will be my second time on his show. He’s a great host and really comes up with some tough questions throughout the conversation, leading to some really deep insights.

Highly recommend checking this one out.

True North Country Comics

After May 16

I’ll be recording this the evening of May 16th with host John Swimner.

John has a tried and true formula for his podcast while still digging into what makes indie creators tick. It’s likely the shortest of all the podcasts I’ll be on too, so if you’re tired of hearing me talk - this might be a good one to get a rundown without having to invest too much time!

True North Country Comics

Write Now! w/ Frank Martin

Next Wednesday May 22 at 8:35pm ET

Frank is really doing something different with Write Now! We’ll be writing a short story together LIVE, trading a sentence at a time until we have something fun to share. Join us if you’re curious how quickly things can go off the rails.

Artist Roberto Viacava informed me that this writing style, translated from Spanish, is called an “exquisite corpse”. I feel like that’ll be a fitting name for what might result of this.

Freshly Pressed by Comix One

Thursday May 30 at 8:30pm ET

Lastly, we have Freshly Pressed. This is a podcast promoting the new digital indie comix website, Comix.One. I’ve already made some sales on this platform! I do love how it’s indie focused - and allows Pesto Comics work to be available to even broader audiences.

Join us as we talk all things comics live.

There’s more in the works podcasting-wise. That information will come out down the road - likely post-campaign.

One More Time for Good Measure

If all this hasn’t convinced you to check out the campaign yet, I’ll do my best to find another way to twist your arm!

I highly appreciate anyone who takes the time to share the campaign. Tweet it, Instagram it, do whatever you do on Tiktok. Get the word out.

Back Crazy Latte Thing Called Love

And back it if you haven’t yet! You don’t want to miss out.

What’s Next?

June 1

How Lucky Am I?

Highlighting the amazing artists I’ve worked with so far
(Plus: A ‘Crazy Latte’ Mid-Campaign Update)

June 15

A Home Away from Home

The weekend at Niagara Falls Comic-Con
(Plus: announcing the next project by Pesto Comics)


Discussion about this podcast

Pesto Comics
Pesto Comics - Audio Edition
Writing and crowdfunding action-filled indie comics for pulp genre junkies.
Strategies and methods for successful campaigns within -- plus sneak previews for upcoming projects!
Published every Wednesday!