Pesto Comics
Pesto Comics - Audio Edition
Con Journal: Comics in the Ballroom
3
0:00
-6:32

Con Journal: Comics in the Ballroom

Too bad I don't sell Pokémon cards at Vaughan Con
3

Before We Begin…

From Parts Unknown is Coming Very Soon

We’re just two weeks away from the launch of From Parts Unknown #1! If you haven’t followed yet, please visit and follow the prelaunch page on Kickstarter here:

As always, the goal is to launch big. This gets the Kickstarter algorithm to push the campaign to as many readers as possible. This is even more important when we’re kicking off a whole new series. You’ll will get this book faster than most indie comics as it’s already drawn and a bunch has been lettered (and the same with issue 2 - issue 3 already starting.)

You won’t have to wait long to get this whole series in your hands!

Follow 'From Parts Unknown #1'

And now, onto the main event…

Do You Like Pokémon?

I have never been to Vaughan Con.

When I was at Niagara Falls Comic Con, I was asking my table neighbours how they felt about their experience the year before. Each time, my inquiry was returned with a sullen face and a “oh, you’re tabling there?”

The 8-foot table was one of the few bright-sides!

They would immediately back-peddle and say that maybe it’ll work out for me.

Maybe I’ll be the one who finds comic fans there. Maybe, maybe, maybe.

If anything, it helped me reset my expectation…which, unfortunately, become very necessary.

A Short Con Close To Home

Before I get into how it all went down, let me tell you how I found myself there.

Vaughan is not exactly another “home away from home” for me like Niagara Falls or Hamilton. It’s really just the town next to the town I grew up in.

In high school, I would regularly find myself at Ricci’s Pizza on a Friday night ordering the huge panzarotti before going next door to Pro Donuts for an equally giant eclair as desert with a rotating cast of friends.

We had a movie theatre in our neighbourhood, but going to the Colossus Theatre in the Woodbridge area of Vaughan was the place to be. (It’s a movie theatre shaped like a spaceship and the home of one of the first IMAX screens.)

I also had a short-lived second part time job as a server in a couple of banquet halls thanks to my cousin.

I was really bad at it. I still feel my skin crawl thinking of how many times I spilled hot trays of pasta on wedding attendees finest suits. I cost them more than enough in dry cleaning while making just a dollar more than minimum wage - which felt worth it after a morning of making $6.60/hour at the grocery store that very same morning.

Needless to say, I was hoping for this to be a much better experience than the last time I was working in a banquet hall.

Advertisement
Like newsletters? Here are some other awesome (and completely free!) newsletters our readers also enjoy. Explore:

Refind Newsletters

How Did It Go?

Not great sales wise. I moved a few copies of every book I had on hand - but not enough to make table. It wasn’t hard to see why.

I was flanked on every side by vendors selling Pokémon cards - and selling a ton. Fans with their special briefcases would huddle around, eager to look at what graded cards they could grab — only occasionally glancing at the comics tables.

The neighbour to my right cleaning house with graded Pokémon cards

The few sales I made came early and the rest of the day was seeing the same few people circle while avoiding eye contact.

It wasn’t all bad news though…

I ran into the guys from Comic Asylum for the second show in a row (and we’ll be seeing each other again in Hamilton Comic-Con Sept. 21-22). Used the opportunity to trade their book, Atrium, for a sample of everything Pesto Comics has to offer so far. (Can I count that as a sale?)

Also had a visit from the guys at StudioComix. They run the gamut in services for comic creators - including printing. I’m considering giving them a try for From Parts Unknown to up the quality - and maybe even do a special thing or two as we hit stretch goals.

, of RAD Comix, stopped by for a great chat about all things comics. It’s always fun to talk with him.

I offered to showcase issue #1 of his excellent series, Upside Down, at my table - but as I mentioned, it was slow comics wise so even they didn’t move with the very generous price tag. (You can find issue 2 right now on Kickstarter - just a couple days left.) I’ll be taking these to Hamilton with me too.

Most of all, I had free time to read Old Man's War by John Scalzi. I got a few chapters in and I really enjoyed it - only lifting my head when someone would walk by the table…which was rarely.

I got way too far in this book.

It begs the question…

Will I Return Next Year?

No. No I won’t.

Not unless I get into the trading card business (which…there are plans for). That said, unless they’re graded Pokémon cards there doesn’t seem to be any interest anyway.

Unlike Niagara, with so few comics people there, it wasn’t even a great opportunity to network. It was a pretty isolating experience.

Share Pesto Comics

Another Lesson Learned

I try to take something out of every experience. It was pretty hard for this one.

If anything, I learned that I should ask around before fronting the dough to table at these cons. I was warned by more than one person, well after I got a table, that it would be what it became.

That said, I was also told that FanExpo Vancouver is more art-focused than comic-focused…so we’ll see what happens if I’m promoted from the waitlist there.

Oh well. Here’s hoping third time’s a charm in Hamilton this September.

The Weekend’s Bright Side

The day before Vaughan Con, I had the day off. I decided to finally make my way out to the awesome shop, Wayside Comics & Cocktails.

My plan was to sit, have a beer and chat with the owner, Omar, for a bit before adding my comics to the indie rack and heading out. Instead, I spent hours at the bar chatting with everyone who came through the door. It was an amazing experience.

Wayside C&C is really a special place. It’s a little ways from Toronto, so it takes a special trip to get there - but I highly, highly recommend it. Plan to spend some time, and some cash, while you’re there. It’s a truly unique spot.

It was easily the, unexpected, highlight of my weekend.

Have you gone to a convention that didn’t go your way?
Do you have a favourite LCS that’s doing things differently?
Do you collect expensive, graded Pokémon cards?

Leave a comment

Before I leave you…

More Quick Updates & Goings On…

Crazy Latte Thing Called Love Update

Packages are 98% ready. The only thing we’re missing is the digest variant (which got delayed by our printer). This should arrive at my door today, which means packages will go out asap after that!

More on the whole thing next week.

Will You Be at Fan Expo Canada?

I will! Last year, I handed out bookmarks for Stay Cool to anyone who crossed my path. I’m considering doing something similar this year.

Come find me on the floor and I’ll give you what I’ve got to offer!


Upcoming Posts

August 21

Fun with Fulfillment: Crazy Latte Thing Called Love

The second part of the Crazy Latte Thing Called Love post-mortem

August 28

Hailing From Parts Unknown

A comic that's been lurking in the shadows longer than you know

September 4

Let's Go to the (Fan) Expo (Canada)

The weekend at the biggest Comic Convention in Canada


Find Pesto Comics at these upcoming events:

Coming Soon from Pesto Comics:

  • From Parts Unknown #1 - August 28

  • Big Smoke Pulp Vol. 1 - October 2024

  • Naked Kaiju Woman #1 - November 2024

  • From Parts Unknown #2 - January 2024

Discussion about this podcast

Pesto Comics
Pesto Comics - Audio Edition
Writing and crowdfunding action-filled indie comics for pulp genre junkies.
Strategies and methods for successful campaigns within -- plus sneak previews for upcoming projects!
Published every Wednesday!